• And In The Endless Pause There Came The Sound Of Bees

    A1 Theme
    A2 City Building
    A3 Entering The City
    A4 The Flat
    A5 Rainwater
    A6 Siren Song
    A7 Pods
    B1 The Gift
    B2 Dying City
    B3 City Building (Alternate Version)
    B4 Escape
    B5 Inside The Pods

    B6 End Theme

    Strictly limited vinyl edition - a CD version of this album will only be released in April 2010.

    An accompaniment to the animated film 'Varmints', this is a collection of achingly beautiful orchestral work balanced on a bed of Jóhannsson's patented electronics. Surprisingly however, the film itself is not intrinsic to the enjoyment of the music; Jóhannsson's score stands alone perfectly as a haunting collection of tracks.

    As with most soundtracks, the album is made up of a selection of repeating themes which appear and disappear throughout the record; Jóhannsson manages to approach this with such subtlety you can't always even tell that a familiar theme is drifting in and out of each track. The clouds of ambience and growls of synthesizer that underpin the lilt of the orchestra are crucial to the record and give a similar warmth similar to what made 'Englaborn' so very special. These pieces are memorable and deeply moving, and within one listen you could almost visualise the film itself – or at least a home made version. Soundtrack or not, Jóhannsson has created yet another peerless collection of electronic/classical vignettes you won't be forgetting any time soon.

    0 σχόλια → And In The Endless Pause There Came The Sound Of Bees